September 27, 2002 at 7:20 PM

Wine Makes The World Go 'Round

So here's something I've been pondering through the haze of a wine induced headache that refused to be silenced with Excedrine Migrane tablets....

Why does one invest money into an "evening" of alcohal? So far every experience I have had with the vile brew - and there have been many, many, many experiences..I consider myself a professor in Wine-ology at the school of Life. Anyway. Every experience always has the same effects:

1) I grow tired, making it difficult to stay awake and enjoy the evening

2) My mind always wanders to the unrepairable problems in my life that I'd hope to forget by drinking said alcohal

3) I start to feel depressed that I'm single in particular

4) I will eventualy take that "over the edge" sip and try to sing a goddess awful version of "I'm Your Baby Tonight" or something equally too challenging for the thinking impaired

5) I will become even more depressed that I ruined my "perfomance" - for every Karaoke song is a "performance" in my head

6) The next day I will either suffer a headache that only dies down just in time to be met with one brought on by my computer screen at work or my body will punish me by giving me motion sickness every time I blink too hard

BUT all the same - I know next Thursday night, I'm gonna do it again. Odd isn't it? Well not terribly odd - in fact the word "Addiction" might spring to some minds out there. But my best defense against that, is that I'm too poor to be totaly addicted to anything - except maybe sleep and the internet.

It didn't help either that my fellow receptionist was not at work today so I had the full phone responsibility - and it happened to be the "End of the Month" fiscally for Coldwell - so all the realtors were trying to get all their work in at the last minute. I was flying by the seat of my pants all day long.

I even lived a sitcom moment today, very "Friends" or "Seinfeld" - dueling All-To-Cheery-Secretaries. I answered the phone with my oh so happy greeting "Thank you for Calling Coldwell Banker Real Estate & Mortgage Services! ...How may I help YOU?!" To which a woman asked, with a smile and a bounce you could hear through the phone, "Well Good Morning! Is Jane Jerman available?!" "No! I'm SO sorry but she's not in the office this morning...Would you like her voice mail?!" "Why yes! Thank you So much!"

I wanted to shoot myself afterwards but it was only 10 o'clock and I wanted to live at least through lunch. At least it's a Friday...

I'm feeling a little The current mood of shaunpuffyrice@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

Car Tunes:

Today's Motto:

- archive -

view profile. diary rings


email me. leave a note


guestbook. diaryland


reviews. quizzes


On Getting Screwed and Other Recent Events
On Why I Won't Be At Work Tomorrow
On Remembering That I Have An Online Diary
On A Speed Bump In The Making
On How Crazies Are Everywhere



Give me Clix!


[ Registered ]