December 03, 2002 at 5:43 PM

On How My Office Was Turned Upsidedown

Finally

Some action around this place�

Apparently all the action that has NOT been happening for about 3 months exploded this morning. I get to work all chipper and excited to be bringing in my �Holiday Bear� from the Ty corporation to sit at my computer (a December ritual with me) � and what do I find?

During the night the broker for our office (my boss) entirely cleaned out her office and moved to another Real Estate Firm. No one knew that this was going to happen � not even her personal assistant. So we spent half the day answering the phone and trying to explain what happened to the 50 some agents who found out that their broker abandoned them. As it that wasn�t enough� the TOP selling/listing agent also left the office, taking her 5-person team with her. So we spent the OTHER half of the day forwarding their calls to the cell phone they are working off of until they get their own offices at the new firm.

Needless to say, this place has been �gossip central� today. Everyone is wondering who else or if anyone else will leave and if they will keep our office or merge us with the one from down the street. Its actually been quite interesting. The broker from the office that we might merge with assured us that there is a place for Pitbulbarbie and myself with CB whatever happens � but that didn�t stop us from cruising Monster.com and the Tampa Tribune�s employment section all afternoon. I�ve seen how well corporate america treats it�s employees during a merger time� and been �laid off� before in the process too� But we�ll see. I really don�t want to leave the firm. I like it here � but maybe we can squeeze some more money out of them. That would be nice.

It was sad to see the other agent and her team leave though. They were some of my favorite people here. Very nice. They even got us some going away/appreciation presents� and put some real thought into them too. They gave me a gift certificate to Barnes & Noble (before I got my car, I would be dropped off at work about an hour early� so I would spend it in the break room reading book after book after book�) and a gift certificate to get my car washed and waxed professionally. And we�re not talking cheap here either � each g.c. was $40. (sigh) They were such nice people� Oh well� we�ll keep in touch.

It�ll be interesting to see what happens as the rest of the week unfolds�


I'm feeling a little The current mood of shaunpuffyrice@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

Car Tunes: "One Last Breath" - Creed

Today's Motto: I wanna keep my job!

- archive -

view profile. diary rings


email me. leave a note


guestbook. diaryland


reviews. quizzes


On Getting Screwed and Other Recent Events
On Why I Won't Be At Work Tomorrow
On Remembering That I Have An Online Diary
On A Speed Bump In The Making
On How Crazies Are Everywhere



Give me Clix!


[ Registered ]